top of page

Vaun1k

1. What's your stage name. Vaun1k • K.O.T.Y 2. How long have you been doing music? I've been writing since I was about 7 or 8, but I've just now had the ability to put my music out within the past couple months 3. What inspired you to start making music? My mom honestly. She's a singer who was signed to record labels, spent the summer with Stevie Wonder, did vocals for Too Short (Pimp the Hoe in particular), and just her singing around the house as kids sharing stories has inspired me to be an artist. Her younger brother too, my uncle. He would always be upstairs recording something and me and my brother would go upstairs and lay stuff down. Just always a good vibe centered around music. 4. Who do you look up to in the music industry? Why? Travis Scott. You could consider him as my role model. His versatility is what separates him from many artists. Literally every one of his albums i can listen to them all the way through. I want to gain that type of versatility the more i learn. The artists who based the foundation though would definitely have to be Eminem, 2 Pac, Paramore, and Lil Wayne.  5. Where are you from? What was it like growing up there? I'm from Atlanta, Georgia. Went to school about 25 minutes south of the city. Growing up was cool. Younger years were cool, stuck around most of the white kids in my area which is who put on on to different styles of music. I'll never forget this girl named Haley who slick looked like the lead singer Haley from Paramore, put me on to Paramore. As I got older I realized my crowd of black friends didn't like rock music, skinny jeans, skateboard shoes, etc. At one point in my life I just stopped giving a fuck about what everyone else thought. Soon as that happened, people start fucking with me even harder, because it truly was me being myself. 6. What is your ultimate goal making music? My ultimate goal is to learn as much as I can and make as many connections as possible. I want people to be anxious to come to my shows knowing they're going to be fucking insane. I want to paint movies in people's heads and make them feel like they're at Disney or something. Unforgettable moments is what I want to leave my fans with. 7. What do you think of the music scene today and what could you contribute to it? The music scene today is based on this rockstar lifestyle. I'm a fucking born rockstar. Not all, but some artists are just riding the rockstar wave because it's what's poppin right now. You can ask ANYONE that knows me, I've been doing this shit since 5th grade when everybody else thought that shit was lame. I feel like I personally can bring more energy and build my versatility more than anyone in the game right now. 8. Where can the people find your music? (Drop all social media links) https://soundcloud.com/vaun1k • https://twitter.com/vaun1k • https://instagram.com/vaun1k • all social media: @vaun1k

bottom of page